Governance : 2012-2013

The main decision making body of the Sri Lanka Dental Association is a 15-member Council which comprises of 8 office bearers and 9 other members of the Association. Two of the nine Council members are under 35 years of age. The Council of the SLDA also seeks advice from a Consultative Council comprising of a minimum of five Past Presidents from time to time on matters that may deem necessary.

In addition, the functions and tasks of the SLDA are carried out by Committees with discretions and powers delegated by the Council.

Council of 2012-2013

Office Bearers

Dr. Suresh Shanmuganathan

AVM (Dr) A.M.B. Amunugama (Retired)

President Elect

+94 77 2229015

Dr. Vipula Wickamasinghe

Dr. K. Ramesh Kanna

Dr. Sarath Senaratne

Vice President

+94 77 3246394

Dr. Naresha Samarasekara

Asst. Secretary/Librarian

+94 77 6017005

Dr. A. Sundar

Dr. Eshani Fernando

Immidiate Past President


Council Members

Dr. R. Ranawake

Dr Dileep de Silva

Dr. (Mrs) D.W. Fambeck

Dr. V. Thuthikaran

Dr. Miraz Mukthar

Dr. P.G.K.S. Rajapaksha

Dr. Dasun Perera

Please direct all communications to

Co-opted Members

Dr. Gamini de Silva

Chairman – Oral Diseases Commission APDF

+94 77 7713106

Dr. J.M.W. Jayasundara Bandara

Deputy Director General of Health Services – Dental Services

+94 77 835 6460

Prof. E.A.P.D. Amaratunga

Member of Science Committee – FDI World Dental Federation

+94 77 7806084

Dr. Hilary Cooray

Past President – Commonwealth Dental Association

+94 11 2421969

Dr. Suresh Shanmuganathan

Member – Sri Lanka Medical Council)

+94 77 7774764

Nominees by SLDA

Dr. Udaya Usgodaarachchi

SLSI Standard Specification for Toothpastes & Toothbrushes

Dr. M. Farhim Jameel

Advisary Committee on Cosmetic Drugs & Devices

Dr. Suresh Shanmuganathan

Private Health Services Regulatory Council (PHSRC)
Continuing Professional Development (NCCPD)

Please direct all communications to